Compare · Last verified October 21, 2026

LeadGasket vs Steer

Both are front-of-house platforms for auto shops: online booking, texting, review requests, campaigns and phones. This page shows where they differ, with prices from each company's own website on October 21, 2026.

The short version

Steer is built around the data in your shop management system. It connects to 30 to 40+ systems, reads each vehicle's mileage, visits and declined work, and sends reminders and follow-ups from that data on its own. LeadGasket does not connect to shop management systems. It is built to bring in and convert new customers from one platform at a lower monthly price, with a website, web chat, missed-call text-back, booking and two-way texting included from $97 a month.

If reminders timed by mileage and repair history are the main thing you want, Steer does that and LeadGasket does not. If you want the lead-capture tools and a lower bill, and you are fine importing your customer list, LeadGasket is the better fit.

Choose Steer if

  • You run Tekmetric, Shop-Ware, Shopmonkey, Mitchell 1, RO Writer, NAPA TRACS or another system on Steer's list, and you want reminders timed by mileage and service history without doing anything.

  • You want declined-work lists and campaign reports tied to repair-order revenue.

  • You send postcards or letters. Steer prints and mails them, billed per piece.

  • You have a large team. Steer includes unlimited users on every plan.

Choose LeadGasket if

  • You want two-way texting, web chat, missed-call text-back, online booking and a website included for $97 a month.

  • You run ads or want a steady flow of new customers. Funnels, forms, sales pipelines and a social media planner are built in.

  • You want month-to-month terms and a 30-day 110% money-back guarantee.

  • Your shop management system is not on Steer's list, or you don't use one.

Feature by feature

Steer column: steer.io pricing and feature pages, October 21, 2026. LeadGasket column: the plan each feature comes with. "Not listed" means we could not find it on Steer's website that day; Steer may offer it another way.

FeatureSteerLeadGasket
Booking and website
Online bookingIncluded. Every plan, from the $189 Booking Tool. Adds Reserve with Google.Included. Essential, $97/mo.
WebsiteAdd-on. $100/mo per location (Steer Websites).Included. Websites and funnels, Essential.
Website chatAdd-on. $80/mo per location (AutoOps Pro), or included in Ultimate at $629/mo.Included. Essential.
Messaging
Two-way texting and email in one inboxIncluded. Essentials, $479/mo. Texts go out from a local number.Included. Essential. Text, call and email usage billed separately; most shops pay $20 to $75 a month.
Missed-call text-backAdd-on. Closest match is AutoOps Voice, which texts a booking link to callers who reach voicemail after hours or a busy line. In the $80/mo add-on or Ultimate.Included. Essential. Every missed call gets a text.
Facebook Messenger in the same inboxNot listed. Included. Essential.
Reviews and reminders
Automatic review requests by text and emailIncluded. Essentials, $479/mo.Included. Professional, $397/mo.
Service remindersIncluded. Essentials. Timed by date, mileage or service history pulled from your shop management system.Included. Timed by date, from your calendar or customer tags. LeadGasket has no mileage or repair-order data.
Declined-work follow-upIncluded. Deferred-work offers during booking (every plan); Opportunity Hub lists in Ultimate.No. LeadGasket does not see your repair orders.
Text and email campaignsIncluded. Essentials, with 100+ designs, per Steer.Included. Professional.
Postcards and lettersIncluded. Billed per printed piece.Not offered.
Phones and AI
AI phone answeringAvailable. Call Assistants, marked new. No price shown on Steer's site.Available. AI voice receptionist on the Voice AI plan, $399/mo.
Call tracking and call insightsIncluded. CallerID+ and Call Intelligence in Ultimate, $629/mo. Steer also sells its own phone system.Included. Call tracking in Professional.
Getting new customers
Funnels and landing pagesNot listed. Included. Essential.
Sales pipeline for new leadsPartly. Opportunity Hub tracks follow-ups on existing customers (Ultimate).Included. Pipelines from first call to finished job, Essential.
Forms and surveysPartly. NPS and service surveys, one active at a time.Included. Forms and surveys, Essential.
Social media plannerNot listed. Included. Professional.
Invoicing and text-to-payNot listed. Included. Professional.
Your data and your team
Connects to your shop management systemYes. 30 to 40+ systems (Steer's own pages give both numbers).No. Customer lists are imported from a spreadsheet. Nothing syncs with your shop system.
UsersUnlimited.2 on Essential; 10 on Professional.
ContactsNot stated on the pricing page.1,000 on Essential; 5,000 on Professional.
Price and terms
Monthly price$189 Booking Tool, $479 Essentials, $629 Ultimate, per shop. Enterprise by quote.$97 Essential, $397 Professional. Usage billed separately.
ContractPlans auto-renew. 30 days' written notice to cancel. Fees already paid are not refunded (Steer Terms, September 4, 2026).Month-to-month. Email [email protected] at least 7 days before your renewal date to cancel.
GuaranteeNone stated. 30-day 110% money-back. Email us within 30 days and we refund 110% of what you paid for your plan. Phone, text and email usage is not refunded.
OnboardingNot stated on the pricing page.A 45-minute onboarding call is included.

What each costs, like for like

Monthly list prices from each pricing page on October 21, 2026. Example: a shop that wants two-way texting, review requests, website chat and a website.

Steer

Essentials (texting, reviews, campaigns, reminders, booking): $479

AutoOps Pro (website chat, after-hours voice): $80

Steer Websites: $100

Per month, per shop: $659

Or Ultimate at $629 plus the website at $100 = $729, which adds call intelligence, Opportunity Hub and Digital Glovebox. Carrier message rates may apply on top, per Steer's terms.

LeadGasket

Professional (everything in Essential plus review requests, campaigns, social planner, invoicing, call tracking): $397

Website, web chat, booking, missed-call text-back: Included

Text, call and email usage (most shops): $20 to $75

Per month: $417 to $472

Essential at $97 covers texting, chat, missed-call text-back, booking and the website, but review requests and campaigns start on Professional.

Switching from Steer, or running both

Most shops pick one. Running both means two texting numbers, two inboxes, and customers getting asked for a review twice. If you move to LeadGasket, here is how it goes:

1. Export your customer list from Steer as a spreadsheet: name, phone, email and vehicle.

2. We import it on your 45-minute onboarding call and set up your texting number, booking calendar, website and review requests.

3. Pause Steer's campaigns before our first message goes out, so nobody hears from both.

4. Give Steer 30 days' written notice. Their terms say fees already paid are not refunded, so time it to your renewal date.

What you give up: reminders timed by mileage, and declined-work lists. LeadGasket does not read your shop management system. Reminders in LeadGasket run by date, from your calendar or the tags you put on customers.

Questions shops ask

Is LeadGasket a replacement for Steer?

For booking, texting, web chat, review requests, campaigns and your website, yes. For reminders and follow-ups driven by repair-order data, no. Steer reads that data from your shop management system; LeadGasket does not.

Does LeadGasket connect to Tekmetric, Shop-Ware or Shopmonkey?

No. Your customer list comes in from a spreadsheet, and new customers are added when they book, text, call or fill out a form. Nothing syncs back and forth with your shop management system.

Can I keep Steer and add LeadGasket for new-customer marketing?

You can, but you would be paying for two texting systems. If you keep Steer, send review requests and reminders from one system only, so customers are not asked twice.

What does LeadGasket cost beyond the monthly plan?

Texts, calls and email are billed by usage. Most shops pay $20 to $75 a month. There is no charge per user beyond your plan's user limit, and no long-term contract.

What if it doesn't work out?

Email [email protected] within your first 30 days and we refund 110% of what you paid for your plan. Usage charges are not refunded. After 30 days, cancel by emailing us at least 7 days before your renewal date.

Does LeadGasket answer the phone?

Every missed call gets a text back right away on every plan. The Voice AI plan at $399 a month adds an AI receptionist that answers calls and books appointments.

See LeadGasket for your shop

Sources and notes

Steer information was read on October 21, 2026 from these pages:

steer.io/pricing (plans, add-ons, billing and cancellation)

steer.io/terms-conditions (updated September 4, 2026)

Websites, Website Chat, Two-Way Messaging, Service Reminders, Opportunity Hub, Reviews, Call Assistants, Phones, Integrations, About

Steer help: connecting your shop management system (August 14, 2024)

LeadGasket information comes from leadgasket.com/pricing, our refund policy and our cancellation policy.

Steer, Mechanic Advisor and AutoOps are trademarks of their owners. LeadGasket is not affiliated with or endorsed by Steer. Prices and features change; if you see something here that is out of date, email [email protected] and we will fix it.

LeadGasket

The all-in-one growth platform for auto shops. Replace 12+ tools with one.

© 2026. LeadGasket. All rights reserved.

Download on the App Store
Get it on Google Play

Contact Us

Text us

Email